Book Review: Knight of Light

Knight of Light is the first book in The Watchers series by Deirdra Eden. It is something I would describe as a fantasy book for younger readers, probably suitable for anyone from 10 years old and up. The story is told through the eyes of Auriella, a young orphan who is forced to run away from her village and is therefore forced into an adventure she never expected. Along the way she meets several characters, including a witch, a dwarf, a pixie, and a handsome prince, and finds herself fighting off the Shadow Legion, a group who seems to be hunting her for reasons unclear to her to begin with. Her journey leads her not only to new lands, but allows her to discover things about herself.

Here’s the book trailer, for those interested:

http://youtu.be/nMVJ6btZLFA

This was a really quick and enjoyable read and a great introduction to the fantasy genre for younger readers. Even for someone [much] older and more cynical like me, I was able to just sit back and smile as I read about Auriella’s adventure.

If I am to be picky I will say there are an awful lot of adjectives used. I am not used to seeing so many of them in contemporary novels. I also felt that some portions of the book moved way too quickly. For example, in one chapter there was a farewell, a significant passage of time, a death, and another departure (I have deliberately tried to keep this vague enough so there wouldn’t be spoilers). I was also a little thrown that such a fantasy novel could be set in England, but I suspect that’s just me and my difficulty in suspending disbelief. Despite these minor faults, I raced through this book and found it a nice light-hearted escape from reality. It’s one I would love to read to my niece and nephew.

Knight of Light by Deirdra Eden: 3 out of 5 stars.

Knight of Light

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

