2014 Man Booker Prize Shortlist

A week ago, the 2014 Man Booker Prize shortlist was announced and I am absolutely ecstatic to see that Richard Flanagan’s masterpiece, The Narrow Road to the Deep North, is in the thick of things. I have previously reviewed this book and it quickly catapulted itself into my personal Top 5 Books of All Time. I also had the pleasure of meeting Richard (oh we are totally on an unspoken first name basis, I’m sure) at Adelaide Writers’ Week earlier this year, where he honoured me by noting me as a fellow scribbler. So my views on this year’s shortlist are completely biased – I want him to win!

When the shortlist was announced I realised that I have made minimal progress towards my Booker challenge (I’ve only read one of the books in the last year) which was the idea behind this whole blog. I’ve been happily reading plenty of other things and the challenge I set for myself went down the list of priorities. Not to worry, at least I can safely say I’ve read one of the books on this year’s shortlist!

Apart from The Narrow Road to the Deep North, the other books shortlisted this year are:

  • To Rise Again at a Decent Hour by Joshua Ferris
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler
  • J by Howard Jacobson
  • The Lives of Others by Neel Mukherjee
  • How to be Both by Ali Smith

Earlier today I purchased We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler but will have to borrow the others from the library.

The number of books for me to read on my Booker challenge list has now increased to 258. Eek!!

2 thoughts on “2014 Man Booker Prize Shortlist

Leave a Reply

