2013 in review

Well as another year draws to a close it is the time to reflect on the books I’ve read this year, and in particular, the ones that deserve a notable mention. These are not books that were necessarily published in 2013, because I have so many books to read that I’m often a few years behind, but here’s my reading year in review.

The ones I loved

In no particular order, these are the books I read this year that I really loved.

  1. Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates
  2. Skagboys by Irvine Welsh
  3. Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  4. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving (this was a particular standout)
  5. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
  6. Disgrace by JM Coetzee
  7. Doctor Sleep by Stephen King
  8. The Fault in our Stars by John Green (loved this one)
  9. The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan (has hit one of my favourite books ever, and was my most loved read in 2013. Book review coming soon)
  10. Swimming Home by Deborah Levy

The ones that were poop

  1. Daughter of China by Meihong Xu and Larry Engelmann
  2. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The strangest read

  1. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S Thompson

What I’m still in the middle of

  1. A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin
  2. The Year of Living Biblically by AJ Jacobs
  3. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller (have been reading this since June. Must get back to it!)
  4. Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris (since September)

I hope you’ve all enjoyed your reading this year! I’m looking forward to getting into some more books soon, although my reading time will be reduced in 2014 as I commence my Honours study.

I’d like to take this opportunity to wish you all a safe and very happy New Year! Hope to see you back here in 2014 πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “2013 in review

  1. I love A Prayer for Owen Meany and Disgrace, such individual voices. The film of Disgrace was on TV last night and I’ve recorded it but not watched it yet – do you know if its any good? Revolutionary Road and Half a Yellow Sun have been on my TBR pile for ages – you’ve motivated me to get round to reading them!

    • Out of those two I liked Revolutionary Road, but both books are rather depressing so pick your timing πŸ™‚ I haven’t see the film Disgrace, although with John Malkovich in it, it can’t be too bad.

  2. Happy New Year! I have the Flanagan book on my TBR pile! Just finishing his “Wanting.” My fav book was Past the Shallows by Favel Parrett, an incredibly accomplished newcomer. Book tastes are so subjective, Lovely Bones was only my thumbs down list, Love in the Year of Cholera, while politically incorrect was poetically written IMO

    • I haven’t read Past the Shallows but it’s on my to-read list πŸ™‚
      It’s definitely a subjective thing. Some of my favourite books of all time are not so liked by my close friends, but that’s one of the beautiful things about books, or any art form really πŸ™‚

  3. I thought Living History would have received pole position in the ones that were poop, Mel! Or it could have its own category: “Books So Poop, I Couldn’t Even Read Them” πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

