What was said Vs what was meant

A line from The Last Emperor has always stayed with me: “If you don’t say what you mean, you will never mean what you say”.

Said: I’ve never met anyone like you. You’re my soul mate.

Meant: I’ve never met anyone like you. You’re still not good enough.

Said: I’ll always be honest with you.

Meant: I’ll tell you things selectively. I don’t want you to ‘freak out’.

Said: I would never do that to you.

Meant: I’ll do that exact same thing, but get offended when you try to point this out to me.

Said: I can’t wait to start our lives together.

Meant: I am totally okay with waiting, and will shoot down any suggestions you might make to get things moving.

Said: You deserve to be happy.

Meant: I don’t want to hear you telling me you’re unhappy. Just be happy!

Said: I really think we’re meant to be together.

Meant: I really think we’re meant to be together, but [insert breakup material here].

Said: So he didn’t even give you a chance to fix things? That’s crap.

Meant: Damn, that’s a great idea. I’ll do that.

Said: I’m gonna work on my behaviour. I don’t want to be like that.

Meant: I could work on my behaviour, but I’ll still revert to it when next things go wrong, and start with the “all my fault/all your fault” routine, instead of having a discussion like an adult.

Said: I’ll always love you.

Meant: It’s just not possible to love you forever.

😦

4 thoughts on “What was said Vs what was meant

  1. Oh sweetie. Relationships and, ultimately, people really suck sometimes. Please know that there are people out there that do think you are awesome and do love you lots (unconditionally, might I add), and you do deserve to be truly happy. Maybe this certain someone doesn’t deserve to be truly happy with you. xx

  2. I know this is cold comfort, Mel, but at least you know. You don’t need to waste anymore time on this douche canoe who doesn’t deserve you anyway. I also know it’s incredibly painful, but this douche has done you a favour. Trust me when I say this: you do not want to be with someone who think this little of you. He’s not your type.

Leave a Reply

