The Man Booker Shortlist 2013

Well I am a couple of days late to the party, but I can’t let my ‘Booker challenge’ blog not mention the fact that the 2013 Man Booker shortlist has recently been announced! The books that have been shortlisted this year are:

  • We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo
  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
  • The Harvest by Jim Crace
  • The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  • The Testament of Mary by Colm Toibin

There are numerous blogs and websites that provide a deep look into the shortlist and analyse the significance of certain titles, but my analysis can be summarised in two words: Oh crap. I have never ready anything by any of these authors, let alone these particular books, so my Booker challenge tally has increased by 6 this year and I don’t even know if they’re the kind of authors I’ll enjoy reading. I have heard plenty of interviews with Colm Toibin and Ruth Ozeki over the years, and saw Jim Crace a few years ago at Adelaide Writers’ Week, but that’s about it.

Amount of books I still need to read for the Booker challenge I set myself: 254. Eek!

2 thoughts on “The Man Booker Shortlist 2013

Leave a Reply

