Stephen King Talks Opening Sentences

I always knew there was something that captured my attention from the first page, but I’d stupidly never focused so much on the opening line of a novel. I’ll have to be more conscious of this in future, because it definitely sets the tone.

101 Books

I’ve talked a good bit about opening lines on this blog (here, here, and here, for instance). I love the opening lines of novels so much that I even include them in all of my reviews.

To this point, my favorite opening line is from The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood.

View original post 476 more words

2 thoughts on “Stephen King Talks Opening Sentences

  1. that first line is so crucial. It’s like a starting gun for a foot race. I can’t count the amount of times I’ve started to write and scrapped that first sentence because it didn’t accurately set the mood.

Leave a Reply

