Why I love to write

There are few things in this world that make me as happy as I feel when I put pen to paper, or sit at my keyboard, and just write. Despite the happiness it brings me, it is something I tended to forget unless I had to write a piece for an assignment. Work got in the way. Life got in the way. Personal dramas got in the way. I kept thinking to myself, I just need to find half an hour or an hour a day to just sit and let the words flow. Sure, a lot of what I write is junk, but it’s still writing, and sifting through and editing and discarding things can be done later. The main thing was, I needed to write again.

This blog reminded me how much I loved writing. My Creative Writing teacher also helped. Her classes every week have been a joy to attend, and her passion for the craft just fills me to the brim. Each week she would give us a small writing task, just something we would sit and write for 20 minutes, and it reminded me how much could be achieved, what great words could be written, if I just took a little time to do so.

I am one of those people who tends to be the most creative at the most inopportune times. Sometimes a line will come to me just before I fall asleep, or when I’m in the shower, and I have to repeat it to myself over and over so I don’t forget it until I can get myself to a sheet of paper and a pen. Sometimes nothing more happens. The lines of text remain unused. But sometimes, they’re the start of something great. I love discovering what it could be.

I am a meticulous planner when it comes to real life events or holidays, but when it comes to my writing, I am not good at planning. I just write whatever comes to me. At the moment I’m writing a story for my major project in which I have written the first third, and I know how I want the story to end, but I don’t yet know how I’ll get there. This both frightens me and thrills me.

Mostly, I love writing because it’s a release for me. When things are bad with family, I turn to writing. When I’m feeling nostalgic about friends or loved ones I’ve lost, I write a quick 250 words to get the sense of loss out. I even recently got so annoyed at somebody that I just had to write down a list of why they annoyed me, then threw it away to get that out of me. Even though my teacher is the only person to read most of these stories, it doesn’t matter, because I needed to write them.

Leave a Reply

