1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die

Today I was sitting around feeling sorry for myself, as I have a sinus infection and was off sick from work. I was in no mood to open the assignment I have due on Friday, so in an effort to procrastinate, I thought I might see what else I can tick off out of the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die book. It seems it’s been a couple of years since I last did this, as I had a few I could tick off, thanks largely to my work book club.

I was originally thinking of setting myself this, rather than the Booker challenge, as a focus for my blog, but I am rather glad that I didn’t now. My list of books read from the 1001 list is pathetic, largely revealing that I have not read a lot of classics. And I do mean a lot. In total, I have only read 23 out of the 1001 books. This is pathetic! One would hope to have read at least 100 out of a list saying that you really must read them before you die. Sheesh. The only consolation is that, by default, my Booker challenge (when actually commenced) will mean I can tick off a few more from the 1001 list.

For those interested, this is the pathetic list of books I have read out of 1001. I’m not sure how often these 1001 book series are revised, but the version I have is the 2006 edition, which stops listing at books published during 2005.

Books I’ve read from 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die

1800s = 5

Frankenstein – Mary Shelley
Hard Times – Charles Dickens
Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
Dracula – Bram Stoker

1900s = 13

The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien
The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
Lord of the Flies – William Golding
The Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien
To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess
The Shining – Stephen King
Hitchhikers’ Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
American Psycho – Bret Easton Ellis
Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis de Bernieres
Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden

2000s = 5

White Teeth – Zadie Smith
Life of Pi – Yann Martel
Choke – Chuck Palahniuk
Atonement – Ian McEwan
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Mark Haddon

I am really not doing much for my reputation…

7 thoughts on “1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die

    • Hi Michelle, thanks for dropping by my blog! The original list isn’t a ‘list’ as such, but out of the book ‘1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die’ linked in the post 🙂

      • It’s an interesting list, covering many genres, but of course, open to argument. I managed 138 all up. If you accept that you begin to read literature aged 15, that’s only three per year and I average a book a month. The rest must be pulp! Somehow I think not.

Leave a Reply

