Another person making a fresh start

Well, hello to you! I have taken the plunge and decided to start a new blog as I am in a stage in my life of new beginnings, starting over and starting afresh, and I needed my blog to reflect that. My old blog held with it some difficult memories, and while I haven’t deleted that blog, knowing that in the back of my mind meant that I wasn’t writing any more. So here I am.

I have also decided to take this opportunity to take a different angle with this blog. Although I will naturally be injecting some of the personal into this, I will be leaning towards posting about what I’m reading. You’ll quickly learn that I love to read all kinds of books, but there’s been a particular challenge I’ve been thinking about taking on: reading every book that’s made the Man Booker Prize shortlist. This is indeed a mammoth task in itself, as the prize has been around since 1969, but the challenge is made worse by several factors:

  1. At last count I have 233 unread books in my own bookshelves I must get to (although some of these will double up with the Booker shortlisters)
  2. I am in my third year of a creative writing course at UniSA so when I’m not working full time as a public servant, I am usually reading a textbook or writing an assignment
  3. As the leader of my work book club (Once Were Wallabies) it would be very much out of character for me not to read the books we’re assigned every month
  4. I already have 5 books borrowed from friends and relatives I really need to finish.

So, as you can see, this will be no small challenge… I am hoping this blog will provide me with the little extra incentive I need. But if someone out there would build me some kind of time machine, or give me some kind of sponsorship deal so that I could happily resign from work to achieve my goal, it would be much appreciated.

So, welcome, and I hope you’ll enjoy the journey with me…

13 thoughts on “Another person making a fresh start

  1. LOL after spending more money last year on ebooks than a crack whore on a 3 week bender spends on crack, I decided to try to kick the reading habit and only read stuff from authors that I actually enjoy. So good luck on your quest! Heh.

  2. I’m a member of a Bookclub that has read the last 8 Mann Booker prize winning books.,We’ve been meeting once a month for 12 years now. loved both Hilary Mantell books. Welcome. I’ll be interested to see what you read. By the way the Cooking Chook sent me.

    • She is a gem for sending everyone my way, thanks for popping in! I really should have started with just the winners, that would have been the smarter thing to do. I’ve wanted to read the Hilary Mantel books for a while so it’s good to hear you enjoyed them 🙂

  3. Pingback: Booker challenge: Time to start | Bookabye Baby

Leave a Reply

